A Simple Guide to Blocking

Blocking. Seems hard right? NO!

I remember my first doily ended up being all crinkly and bumpy. And when the pattern called to block it, I didn’t even know what that meant. A novice crocheter at the time, I had to google what blocking was.

But, now as a more experienced crocheter I’ve gotten some practice blocking. And let me tell you, it’s pretty easy. I want to share with you all my process of blocking step by step. These instructions will work on any size, shape, or weight project.

How to Block

You will need sewing pins and a place to block like a towel or carpet.

Step 1: Make sure you have completely finished your project, including weaving the ends before blocking. Set up your area. All you need to do is lay out a towel or clear a space in a corner of some carpet.

             I like to use a towel because I think it’s easier to stick the pins in.

DSC_0184

Step 2: Get your project completely wet and lay it out on the area. Try to straighten and center it the best you can.

DSC_0187

Step 3: Placing a pin in the enter of the project work outwards. Straighten a small piece and place a pin there. Moving towards the outside place pins where you feel necessary. Don’t be afraid to use a lot of pins you want to be sure its straight.

           If you are blocking a piece of clothing make sure you block (stretch it) to the right length. The pattern should have the right dimensions.

           As you can see from the picture above  I like to stick a pin in the middle  and work in a circular motion moving outwards from the center.

Step 4: Once you have finished pining and the piece is straight and to the desired length set aside and let dry. Once it’s dry carefully take the pins out. And enjoy!

DSC_0191

Here is the finished product of my doily. It’s dry and blocked! Let me know if you have any questions about the instructions or blocking in general.

DSC_0194 DSC_0197

What are your adventures  (good and bad) in blocking?

One thought on “A Simple Guide to Blocking

  1. Pingback: Cat Butt Coasters | windsorknits

Leave a Reply

