DIY Light Box

Does anyone else have a hard time taking pictures of their crochet/knit/DIY projects? I feel like the only time I can take good pictures is outside with plenty of natural light.

As an amateur photographer I was  doing a little research on taking better pictures and I found a the light box. Basically, a light box is a box that allows light to be evenly distributed around your item for a better, brighter picture.

And it’s really simple to make. I just googled “DIY light box” and looked at a bunch of results. There are some really great instructions out there, but I’ll give you a quick run down of what I did. It was very easy to make, it took about 2h of my time and most of the supplies I had around my house. You can easily make one for less than $10.

My pictures are much brighter and clearer. It’s not very big so a blanket woundn’t fit, but for hats and scarfs it works perfectly. Also, if you like any of these hats be sure to check out my store.

DSC_0567

DSC_0545

DSC_0530

For materials you will need:

  • 1 large box
  • Tape
  • white tissue paper
  • scissors/box cutter
  • pen
  • ruler
  • 3 bright lamps
  • some sort of background and bottom-I used a piece of poster board

First, I cut the flaps off the top of the box and taped the bottom of the box closed.

Then, on three sides I traced a 2in border(you don’t need to cut the 4th side because it will end up becoming the bottom). Cut out the inside of the square you just traced, leaving a hole in the middle of the side and the edges of the box intact.

Then, tape your tissue paper around the outside of the  3 holes you just cut. And cut the poster board to fit inside the box from the top of the back side to the front of the bottom.

You can place different backgrounds and bottoms for different pictures.

DSC_0579

Here is my cat helping me show you what the light box should look like. It’s ok that the sides still have the cardboard color and the poster board doesn’t quite make it all the way to the front because you can crop it out the photo later.

Do you have a light box or favorite places to take pictures?

One thought on “DIY Light Box

Leave a Reply

