Braided Crochet Scarf Pattern

Like most other days I have found my self on pinterest. My crochet board is pretty big (as it should be) so I find a lot of inspiration from it. I recently stumbled upon this lovely scarf! I want to thank baby night night crafts for her awesome pictures. I thought that I would share with you my take on the braided crochet scarf.

photo

I love the idea of braiding a scarf. It’s so simple! But, I wanted to make sure that where I sewed the ends together wouldn’t be bulky. I really wanted to make sure the braid was seamless and that you couldn’t tell where the ends were. So I thought I would braid it and label the ends and sew the right ends together. But, the ends didn’t really match up… Which ended up ok. I just tried to braid the ends as much as I could and then sewed the ends together.

photo

As you can see my ends didn’t match up, but I just sewed the ones that matched up. I weaved in the ends and then I kind of “smoothed” out the scarf so it would look seamless.

photo

You can kind of tell at the top of the picture is where the seams are, but I think you can’t tell if you aren’t looking ๐Ÿ™‚

photo

Let me know if you have any questions or comments about the scarf. I’d love to hear about your experience making ย the scarf or any other braided projects you might have done!

Braided Crochet Scarf Pattern

Foundation: Ch 120, turn.
Row 1:Ch 2, ds in 3rd ch from hook (counts as 2 ds), 118 ds (120 total), turn.
Repeat row 1 5x total.
Make 3 pieces total.
Label the ends of each piece with the same color and braid together. ย Sew together, weave end, and finish.
Enjoy!

50 thoughts on “Braided Crochet Scarf Pattern

  1. Pingback: Braided Crochet Scarf « Hooked Creationz

    • They are about 36 inches long, but when you weave them together the scarf won’t be 36in, it will be a little shorter. If you want a longer or shorter scarf just decrease/increase the amount of stitches in the rows.
      Also, depending on how tight/loose you crochet the length might be a little different.

  2. love your scarf:) made one from the pattern on Rookie Crafter over at Tangled Happy. I must crochet tighter than the example and mine was too short so I crochet an extension to make it longer. Next time I will make my chain longer and not so many rows but otherwise love the braided look:) Happy crocheting!

    • Thanks!! I made the scarf again and I actually crocheted longer strips with hdc (half double crochet) because I wanted the stitches to be a little tighter. Great minds think alike, right?!

    • Hi Joanna! I haven’t tried making them longer. One thing I like about this scarf is that it only talks one skein. I have been playing around with the idea of making the strips smaller in width and longer in lenght so I could wrap it around twice. If you try it let me know! I would love to see a picture of how it turns out!

  3. I love your scarf and your easy directions. Thank you for your sharing this.

    One question, what did you mean by “Label the ends of each piece with the same color “?
    Thanks!
    TJo

    • Thanks TJo! You know I was trying to be cool and match up the ends of each piece, but that didn’t happen. My advice is braid the pieces together as tight or loose as you want. Then just match up the ends in a way that continues the braid so it looks smooth. Let me know if you have any more questions and good luck with your scarf!!

  4. I am fairly new at crocheting so I hope you donโ€™t mind me asking a couple of โ€œdumbโ€ questions. ๏Š Are we sowing the corresponding colored ends together? Is that the purpose of the different colored markers?

    • Nope, I thought that the colored ends would match up together after they were braided, but they didn’t. So just braid you 3 pieces and sew the ends that match together the best ๐Ÿ™‚ good luck!

  5. Pingback: Braided Loopy Scarf | A Sweet Touch

  6. If you were going to knit this rather than crochet, is it just stockinette stitch (knit one side purl other side) or garter (knit
    all rows)?
    Looking forward to making it soon.
    Thanks

    • Hi Sheila, I haven’t tried knitting this pattern yet, but what a great idea! I would think either pattern would look nice, but personally I would try the stockinette stitch. Let me know how yours turns out!

  7. Pingback: 10 Eyecatching Scarf Patterns for Beginners ⋆ Crochet Girl

  8. Pingback: Braided Scarf

Leave a comment